Book Review: First Comes Love by Emily Giffin

One of my New Years resolutions was to read one book a month. To keep myself committed to that resolution, I have decided to write a book review for each month. If I do more than one, that’s even better. I am hoping this public commitment will bring shame to me if I choose to ignore it.

Emily Giffin became very popular with readers when her book “Something Borrowed” became a movie with Ginnifer Goodwin and Kate Hudson. I had actually read the novel before the movie rumors and loved it!

untitled-7-of-192-edit

Full disclosure: this is a light and dreamy read. It is not meant for those who criticize the literature with a very detailed eye. Obviously, romcoms aren’t literary geniuses but they do bring a feeling of lightness over the reader and pulls them away from the day-to-day of this world.

First Comes Love is very similar (writing style) with Something Borrowed. You have characters that you follow, and Emily does a great job giving the perspective of both main characters in the book (two sisters). Their characteristics are very stereotypical, you have Meredith, who is very responsible and type A, and her sister, Josie, who seems reckless and fun! The storyline follows how they have lived their life after a huge incident happens in their family. Their relationship is challenged through their different lifestyles. There are moments where you hate Meredith, and moments where you want to shake Josie.

As I said, this isn’t bloody Shakespeare, but if you are fan of Romantic Comedies and Dramas, I think you will enjoy this quick read. It took me about a couple of dedicated nights, and an airplane ride to Arizona to finish it.

This is what I would call a summer time, beach read. Give it a try, I think you will like it! Let me know in the comments below for book suggestions, as I am struggling to find my next read for February!

 

XO,

H&R

Leave a comment