How to achieve a fresh and dewy makeup look

I’ve spent most of my early 20s masking my face with matte products. Having oily skin, you cringe at the thought of dewy and fresh. Instead you want matte, and no oil-slick, please! I’ve come to terms that oily skin isn’t necessarily bad, but in a way will help me age nicely ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ve changed my tune and have opted for less coverage and more hydration to give my face some life. Don’t get me wrong, if I am headed out for the night on the town, or have a 12-hour day where I will get photographed at some point, I will douse my face with my reMarcable foundation. However, for day-to-day office wear, the below steps are what I take to achieve a fresh face.

untitled-179-of-192

I still have to start off with a primer that is going to control my oil. Since I am not using powder or oil-controlling foundation, this is key so that my dewiness doesn’t become an oil painting. I love the Benefit POREfessional Matte Rescue primer. This primer hydrates yet keep my t-zone shine-free (for at least 6 hours).

untitled-1-of-91The champion of this routine is my base. Three years ago, the Laura Mercer Tinted Moisturizer was my babe. I loved using this product, but as new products launched, I opted to try new things and forgot about my love for this tinted moisturizer. I squeeze some on my hand and take my Sephora Airbrush Foundation brush to stipple this on my face. Once stippled on, I buff the product so that evens out my skin.

My base doesn’t do a great job covering my under-eye circles (they are very purple:(). Thankfully, the Tarte Shape Tape Contour concealer erases all signs of sleep deprivation. I blend this out with my damp beauty blender.

untitled-6-of-91To give my skin some highlight, I use the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light which isn’t shimmery like all other highlights, but just gives a natural, healthy glow.

To finish off the face, I put some color on my cheeks, and my go-to has been the Too Faced Flush Blush in Baby Love (I’ve hit pan:().

I keep my eyes simple, by filling in my brows with the Benefit Goof Proof Brow pencil in 5. I am obsessed with the Giorgio Armani Eye tint in number 9 .This is a lovely taupe color that I apply all over my lids, and since it is shimmery, I can blend it out into the crease and it can serve as a contour shade as well.

To finish it off, I apply the IT Cosmetics Superhero mascara (about 4 coats) to my lashes and I am done! This takes me about 5-10 minutes, which is perfect for someone who prefers to sleep in!ย untitled-13-of-91

Leave a Reply

